Apple’s new “Why Upgrade - See What You’re Missing” page

Summary

Apple has created a page on their websites where the user enters their current iPhone model and gets a list of reasons to upgrade to the 15-series. Interestingly, currently only the 11- or 12-series are selectable. The user then picks one of four iPhone 15-series models, and the list is generated with reasons to upgrade. It’s similar to the older “Compare” feature, but this new page only shows the differences.

Quotes

“The new “Why Upgrade” page on Apple’s website shows users of some older iOS models what features they’d get if they traded up to the latest iPhone 15 series.  The tool says “See what you’re missing“ in hopes of convincing shoppers that it’s time to move on from handsets introduced in 2019 or 2020.” - Cult of Mac

My thoughts

Honestly I feel like Apple is getting a bit desperate to get users to buy new products, the title screams of desperation of wanting to give users FOMO. I’m a big tech nerd who usually wants the best, but my iPhone 12 Pro Max from 2020 is still serving me great. I know a lot of users are feeling the same way (maybe not on this forum though): that their smartphone is good enough - so why upgrade? If Apple made product that was innovative and revolutionary for real, then they wouldn’t need a list with all the subtle differences for the average user. My conspiracy theory is that the old “Compare” tool showed how much each “new” generation had in common with the previous generations, and that’s why they want to hide it and only display the differences. Also, wanting to give users FOMO by using their devices that are just a few years old is VERY hypocritical considering all their environmental focus.

Sources

https://www.cultofmac.com/851469/apple-highlights-reasons-to-upgrade-latest-iphone-2/ 

8 minutes ago, creat0r said:

Direct link to Apple’s page: https://www.apple.com/iphone/why-upgrade/