is pc gaming just 50% troubleshooting?

okkee

ever since i started playing on a pc i think less than  5 games have had almost no issues. like, if pcgamingwiki wasn't around i'd have given up on this a while ago. is this my unique experience or is this just how pc gaming tends to be?

3 minutes ago, okkee said:

ever since i started playing on a pc i think less than  5 games have had almost no issues. like, if pcgamingwiki wasn't around i'd have given up on this a while ago. is this my unique experience or is this just how pc gaming tends to be?

Are you gaming on Linux?

Most people playing on windows spend very little time troubleshooting. If you are having to do alot of it, there might be a deeper issue with your PC.

I might be experienced, but I'm human and I do make mistakes. Expand for common PC building advice, a short bio and a list of my components and other tech. I edit my messages after sending them alot, please refresh before posting your reply. Please try to be clear and specific, you'll get a better answer. Please remember to mark solutions once you have the information you need.

Common build advice: 1) Buy the cheapest (well reviewed) motherboard that has the features you need. Paying more typically only gets you features you won’t use. 2) only get as much RAM as you need, getting more won’t (typically) make your PC faster. 3) While I recommend getting an NVMe drive, you don’t need to splurge for an expensive drive with DRam cache, DRamless drives are fine for gamers. 4) paying for looks is fine, just don’t break the bank. 5) Tower coolers are usually good enough, unless you go top tier Intel or plan on OCing. 6) OCing is a dead meme, you probably shouldn’t bother. 7) "Bottlenecks" rarely matter and "Future-proofing" is a myth. 8) AIOs don't noticably improve performance past 240mm.

useful websiteshttps://www.productchart.com - helps compare monitors, https://uk.pcpartpicker.com - makes designing a PC easier.

He/Him