Am I the only one that thinks printers are the work of Satan?

lord_galathon

Context: I've been working in IT since 1998, was hired on the edge of the announced Y2K apocalypse, by a bank IT services sub-contractor and my first IT job was to drive around the Québec province and update the firmware and BIOS on old X25 gateways.

After Y2K I was assigned to tech support where I learned that printers suck. Not HP printers, or Canon printers or Konika, Epson, Brother, Lexmark, no. ALL printers suck. I think it's about time that the way jobs are sent to a printer is re-thought out and the printing process simplified.

I have NEVER in 25 years been able to state with 100% certainty that yes, this specific printer will work forever pending regular maintenance kits replacements, rollers, fresh paper and toner/ink. Never.

All of the printers I've ever dealt with would have "voodoo" issues. Some will print perfectly one day, be slow as nails the next day and then return back to being a print hero the day after that, for no specific reason. Same computers, same environment, same network infrastructure, same printer, same firmware, driver, etc.

I think it's related to solar flares.

Anyone else have this experience with printers?

My conclusion is that I LOATHE anything print related. 

/rant

congratulations, things with lots of moving parts end up breaking.  It happens.  

Printers are also no longer the expensive purchases they once were.  HP LJ4000's were $$$$ 30 years ago.  Now it's 300-400 bucks for a good, duplex, B&W Business class networked laser.  You can buy multiple for the price of one 4000 back in the day.

Inkjets suck. I have a Brother B&W laser printer that I fire up once in a blue moon. It's great.