The amount of (seemingly intentional) misinformation in LTT and ShortCircuit content about anything made by Apple (and featuring Alex) is alarming

just_dave

Before I get called a fanboy - I do use Apple products and enjoy it very much. But I am also a developer and especially on macOS, there are many, many problems that need to be highlighted and addressed. These products/platforms are not perfect and criticism is necessary. But misinformation that is intentionally misleading is definitely not. 

I hope I am not the only one, and I think the last ShortCircuit video proved it, as the now-pinned comment contains many replies sharing the same feeling. 

Over the last year or so, I noticed a very strong trend in almost all LTT and ShortCircuit videos where incorrect specifications are stated/presented or completely dumb assumptions are being made.

It makes it seem that either the writers for these videos are completely stupid and incapable of actual research and writing, or it's being done intentionally to drive interaction and views. 

Let me give a few examples with timestamps:

1. Mac Studio SSD Swap video at 9:30 - 9:50 ish. Alex says that macOS recovery has been removed and it's not longer possible to reinstall the OS etc. and Linus reacts to it by saying how badly Apple treats their customers.

What even is that? Did anyone with IQ over 80 spend more than 30 seconds working on that video script? This literally takes 5 seconds to Google: https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/intro-to-macos-recovery-mchl46d531d6/mac