New implementation of graphene based technology could multiply the storage density tenfold on HDD's

Maheegan

Summary

Researchers at Cambridge University have discovered, that if the coating on HDD's is switched from carbon based to graphene based, it could noticeably increase the wear and corrosion resistance of HDD's, possibly increasing the storage density from 1 Tb/in2 to 4-10Tb/in2.

Quotes

Cambridge scientists transferred graphene onto hard disks made of iron-platinum as the magnetic recording layer, and tested Heat-Assisted Magnetic Recording (HAMR) – a new technology that enables an increase in storage density by heating the recording layer to high temperatures. Current COCs do not perform at these high temperatures, but graphene does. Thus, graphene, coupled with HAMR, can outperform current HDDs, providing an unprecedented data density, higher than 10 terabytes per square inch.

My thoughts

I'm by no means an engineer, just an enthusiast builder and beginner-level programming student.

But since there has long been discussion about what the fate of HDD's will be in the future, this new technology could even further cement their place as a even more cost-efficient way to have immense amounts of storage spaces. The main benefit of SSD over HDD still stands; they have faster write/read speeds, but as a storage disk, HDD still has its place, and will have for the forseeable future..

Sources

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-021-22687-y.pdf

https://www.cam.ac.uk/research/news/ultra-high-density-hard-drives-made-with-graphene-store-ten-times-more-data

20 minutes ago, LAwLz said:

I'll belive it when I see it in products. 

There are so many "revolutionary" discoveries that promise major breakthroughs that just end up being impractical for various reasons. 

But but but GRAPHINE!!!!!!

It's so revolutionary bro!!

😄

Current Network Layout:

Current Build Log/PC:

Prior Build Log/PC:

26 minutes ago, Lurick said:

But but but GRAPHINE!!!!!!