How do people learn all this stuff?

1crazyEye

Hi, computer noob here. I really want to learn how to build awesome PC's. I try to watch Linus' videos but his channel is geared toward intermediate to advanced PC enthusiasts as everything I hear just sounds like random acronyms of letters and numbers. So my question is what is the best way to learn? Is there some kind of spreadsheet of all the components and their stats? I just don't know where to start.

Watch some techquickie videos from LMG to learn some stuff. Also just read around on forums, do research of your own, buy a book that has info you need. There are plenty of ways to learn everything it's just taking the time to actually do all the research you need.

Gaming Desktop - AMD Ryzen 7 5800X, MSI MPG B550 Gaming Plus, 32GB Cosair Vengenace LP 3600mhz, EVGA RTX 3070 XC3 Ultra,  Sabrent Rocket 4 1TB NVME SSD, WD Blue SN570 NVME SSD, 4TB Mass storage, EVGA 750W G2, Corsair 270R

This post reminds me of myself about 2 years ago. I had absolutely no idea how and what was driving a pc, untill I purchased the cheapest I could find and took it apart. Then I found a couple videos on youtube, and from there on, my knowledge kept growing. I don't think I'll ever know everything. But the only way to learn is to just keep watching and maybe try and get yourself a very cheap computer you can fiddle with. ;)  Learning takes time, there is no way around it.

The first thing I ever broke was a calculator. I tried cutting a single line in the ribbon cable from the board to the display. It didn't work anymore :P  Then I got the chance to throw away a desktop at my school. Instead I asked them if it was okay if I was to take it home instead. I still have a case fan with only a 12v and ground line. I still use that fan on my desk to blow wind over my mouse ^^

Edited by y_unit265
added information

4 minutes ago, y_unit265 said: