Linux without Linus - Linus apologies and is taking time off

rcmaehl

Source:

CNBC
Slashdot

TL;DR:
Linus Torvalds says he's taking time off and apologizes for 'unprofessional and uncalled for' behavior

Quotes/Excerpts:

Creator of ... Linux, Linus Torvalds, is taking time off and apologizing for his "unprofessional and uncalled for" behavior.. said... Sunday. "I need to change some of my behavior, and I want to apologize to the people that my personal behavior hurt and possibly drove away from kernel development entirely,"... "I am going to take time off and get some assistance on how to understand people's emotions and respond appropriately." "This is not some kind of 'I'm burnt out, I need to just go away' break. I'm not feeling like I don't want to continue maintaining Linux. Quite the reverse,"... "I very much *do* want to continue to do this project that I've been working on for almost three decades."

On Sunday, Linus Torvalds spoke about... a chance to realize "that I really had been ignoring some fairly deep-seated feelings in the community." Torvalds apologized for hurting people with his behavior over the years, and possibly driving some people "away from kernel development entirely." On that end, said Torvalds, "I am going to take time off and get some assistance on how to understand people's emotions and respond appropriately."