What are the dangers of a mostly open case build?

stefanDB

Hi guys, 

I am planning on building a computer case from wood and copper wire. (I have drawn it in inventor, a program from Autodesk that our university uses to teach us CAD. I will add a screenshot and the file if it is small enough)

I would like the case to be mostly open, with the components mounted on parts of an old PC case that I will cut in pieces. The bottom of the case will be a thick piece of wood.

I am worried about all of the components being exposed. The PC is already old (4 years) and was never very expensive (800 euro) but since I am a student now I don't have any plans to replace it soon. 

I think that a cage of copper wires around the components would protect me from sticking my fingers in the fans, and mostly protect the PC from ESD (think loose clothing and such, a friend of mine killed his PC with his bathrobe)

Do you think I should add the copper wires or not? I am also considering to use copper wires instead of the piece of wood to hold the motherboard mounting bracket in the center of the build.

(the gray blocks are rough dimensions of the internal components)

image.png.be02d7a203cc5d89b65d5b2f428c6c0b.png    image.png.4ac8ba25a3de53fcb30bea854e02778b.png 

MB mount - Copy.ipt

If you have pets, make sure that don’t pee on it.

I could use some help with this!

please, pm me if you would like to contribute to my gpu bios database (includes overclocking bios, stock bios, and upgrades to gpus via modding)

Bios database

My beautiful, but not that powerful, main PC:

prior build:

Spoiler

I've broken a couple fans when I accidentally hit the blades while they were running with some fingers.