A Respectful Rant Concerning Slick and the WAN Show

CenTexBU

A little about myself...

I'm a professional political/campaign consultant from the great state of Texas.  I've been PC gaming since the mid-80s when I received my first Commodore 64, and I've been building my own systems since middle school.  I have dual degrees in Political Science (with an emphasis on constitutional and political theory) and a History degree (with an emphasis on early-American/colonial history).  Professionally, I've worked every imaginable job within a campaign from local and county races to three US Senatorial elections.

The reason I mention all of that is this:  I have a pretty intense high-stress job.  PC gaming is my opportunity to put politics aside, and I find building systems for friends, family, or myself to be cathartic.  Politics and technology are sometimes intertwined especially on issues such as NSA spying, net-neutrality, green-energy subsidies, etc. etc.  All of that is to be expected.  Unfortunately, comments are not always welcome.  I long ago completely stopped reading Gizmodo (and all of Gawker media) because the political punditry and commenting became too annoying.  When I've spent all day neck deep in politics constantly battling with the other side -- a little rest and relaxation from all of that is what I'm looking for....not political pontificating from skinny jean wearing tech bloggers in hipster glasses from San Francisco.