Ray tracing

Ergroilnin

So umm...

I will be completely honest, I am totally new to this whole ray tracing stuff and while the little of what I could see in trailers and some basic info on the web did make me smarter, I still cannot answer this one for myself.

Can the ray tracing tech be included backwards in the current triple A games, or do we have to wait for new engines and games build around this feature?

As in, should I hold my breath to see I don't know, FFXV for example, getting an update, which will allow it to use the ray tracing cores on new TRX series, or will I have to wait for newer games to show up with the tech already included from the get to?

some titles can be retrofitted it seems, but now that the technology is starting to become available at a consumer level it will definitely be a case of newer games being made with it specifically in mind.

Games needs to have its code updated to support Ray Tracing.

Doing ray tracing in code is not a 1 liner or something, but DirectX 12 offers things to help. I don't know if Nvidia added things, nor if Vulkhan has, I didn't check (probably does).

Anyway, the good news is that it can be patched in. It doesn't require a full recode of the game.

That said, you need to have developers wanting to, including their publishers. If they see it will not push sales of currently released games (or Nvidia/Microsoft is not willing to pay for it), then they won't do it. But maybe be there in their next game.

The only thing I hope is that the RT Cores can be repurposed. But I have no idea what makes those cores tick. I know Tensor Cores are just NVIDIA lingo for hardware matrix multipliers but I don't know what an RT core is. If the RT cores can be repurposed for older software, the good news is that would be more likely a driver fix.

Why would you want raytracing in FFXV anyway? It's runs horrible enough, raytracing will just drag the already disappointing frame rates even lower.