New body, or new lenses?

To start, I am primarily a studio photographer, so I can control lighting, etc.

My main gear is crop-sensor Nikon bodies (D7000, I dislike for the flimsy feel, even with the battery grip attached, and a D2x, which I adore.) with some very nice glass.

However, I also use a crop sensor Canon 10D with grip, for my infrared work, and I just picked up a Canon 1DS Mark II, which is full frame, and very nice.

So, given ~1000$ to spend, do I upgrade to a full-frame D3x body, and reuse all my lenses (which all happen to be designed for full frame)

or

Do I invest in new glass for my Canon 1DS Mark II?

Decisions I am uncertain about. What say you folk?

NOTE: I no longer frequent this site. If you really need help, PM/DM me and my e.mail will alert me. 

which lenses do you already have and what is your type of photography? In studio I guess portraits but do you print images or is just digital files?

3 hours ago, aspnet said:

which lenses do you already have and what is your type of photography? In studio I guess portraits but do you print images or is just digital files?

Just digital currently.

I mainly use a 50mm, but I have a 40mm, 17-35mm, 28-80mm, 135mm

And I do fetish work, but it all involved people, which is why the 40/50mm is most often used.

NOTE: I no longer frequent this site. If you really need help, PM/DM me and my e.mail will alert me. 

Given the age of the other bodies you're using, it seems logical to invest in glass for the 1DS if you're planning on using that for a primary shooter, especially since you're already in for a considerable sum on the body.

Though investing in a seperate lens system for the same sensor format (35mm) doesn't seem to be very cost effective unless you're selling something else as well. If the newer camera was a Medium Format, my answer would be a "Yes" on the glass.

:/

My eyes see the past…

My camera lens sees the present…