Is Hackintosh reliable?

AndyNguyen

Hi I'm a photography/videography student, and my school require me to use a mac, probably more for convenience sake cus everyone else is using mac. I have a macbook pro, which is good for bringing to school and back. But I like to have a computer at home, and my brother is selling me his computer, with el capitan installed on it.

Here are the specs:

i7 4790k

msi mobo

gtx 970

120gb samsung evo

850w evga psu

for $1000 Canadian which is pretty good deal

Im just wondering if hackintosh will be stable, cus I don't wanna be working on an image or video and the having the computer crashes and lose my work.

I've hackintoshed my own PC, and it's more stable than windows

there is always the chance of a crash with either windows or OSX, but it's been like having an actual mac for me.

as long as OSX is on it's own drive, there's almost no reason for instability

Snorlax: i7 5820k @4.5ghz, Asus X99 Pro, 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666, Cryorig R1 Ultimate, Samsung 850 evo 500gb, Asus GTX 1080 ROG Strix, Corsair RM850x, NZXT H440, Hue+

Smallsnor: Huawei Matebook X

Canon AE-1 w/ 50mm f/1.8 lens

Pentax KM w/ 55mm f/1.8 SMC lens

Zenit-E w/ 58mm f/2 Helios lens

Panasonic G7 with 14-42mm f/3.5 lens

Polaroid Spectra System

The hackintosh is stable (as much as I tryed)...

The only thing (for me) is that OSX was good to do video and photo editing once, now (for me) windows is better...

But anyway it is stable.

It depends a lot on your hardware and and how difficult it is to get thigns working in the first place.

Understand you basically have to trick the OS into thinking your computer specs match those of a mac and then add kexts/drivers to add support for things that aren't natively/directly supported (GTX1080 for example). So, no, it's not particularly reliable/consistent.