Wd Gold vs Red vs something else for DENTIST OFFICE HDD

Go to solution Solved by mortino,

At the bare minimum pick up 2 WD Reds and raid 1 them, the couple hundred bucks is well worth it. Personally I'd get a 3rd drive to keep at your house and do a weekly backup or maybe even monthly if you can't be bothered.

Please Help.

Although I am a kids dentist, I enjoy maintaining my own network (until its past my ability) at the office.  We have a desktop we use as the "server" running windows server 2008 R2, and 9 workstations in my office.  I had a hard drive failure a couple of days ago, came in and the drive was dead.

We leave the drive on 24/7/365.  Files accessed and written are mainly data files, and some picture files for xrays, but no video.

Luckily I had cloned my server HDD a couple of years back, and use the server software to back up the os/ state on a regular basis so I was up and running.

I need to replace the exisiting hard drive that is running in the server now.  2 TB is plenty, I want something robust with the least chance of failure possible.  Cannot do a NAS at this time.

I know any drive can fail at any time. The server enclosure is fairly warm, and its on a cart so it gets moved around. 

Experts, please help!

Thanks  R

1 minute ago, drrich1101 said:

I want something robust with the least chance of failure possible.

An SSD.

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler

Ryzen 3950X | AMD Vega Frontier Edition | ASUS X570 Pro WS | Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB | NZXT H500 | Seasonic Prime Fanless TX-700 | Custom loop | Coolermaster SK630 White | Logitech MX Master 2S | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Pro 512GB | Samsung 58" 4k TV | Scarlett 2i4 | 2x AT2020

really?  lots of reading and writing to the disc from multiple pcs.  I thought they weren't so great for continued read/write