What is hampering my system's FPS right now?

ShadowRohas

Right now I am struggling to consistently stay above 100 FPS in Overwatch, when my goal was over 144FPS at all times on 1080p. Changing my graphics settings in game seems to have no effect on my FPS at all. When I run the game, I only have open Battle.net, the game itself, and Discord. Here are my system specs:

Nvidia 1070 (Zotac Mini version)
i5 6400 Processor @2.7ghz
8GB of Ram (I'm actually unsure of the brand, but I can open up my PC to look if it's needed)
Z170A PC MATE motherboard
Corsair CX500 PSU

I'm running Widows 7 as my OS. As I said, I struggle to maintain high frames, and I'm wondering what part of my PC I need to improve to see better framerates. When I run CPU-Z, it says that my memory usage is around 6900 when running Overwatch, so I think it may be that, but I'm new to PC building and I'm not sure if there's some other factor I'm overlooking. Any help would be appreciated.

What is the games fps limit? I bet it has one. 

Laptop: 2019 16" MacBook Pro i7, 512GB, 5300M 4GB, 16GB DDR4 | Phone: iPhone 13 Pro Max 128GB | Wearables: Apple Watch SE | Car: 2007 Ford Taurus SE | CPU: R7 5700X | Mobo: ASRock B450M Pro4 | RAM: 32GB 3200 | GPU: ASRock RX 5700 8GB | Case: Apple PowerMac G5 | OS: Win 11 | Storage: 1TB Crucial P3 NVME SSD, 1TB PNY CS900, & 4TB WD Blue HDD | PSU: Be Quiet! Pure Power 11 600W | Display: LG 27GL83A-B 1440p @ 144Hz, Dell S2719DGF 1440p @144Hz | Cooling: Wraith Prism | Keyboard: G610 Orion Cherry MX Brown | Mouse: G305 | Audio: Audio Technica ATH-M50X & Blue Snowball | Server: 2018 Core i3 Mac mini, 128GB SSD, Intel UHD 630, 16GB DDR4 | Storage: OWC Mercury Elite Pro Quad (6TB WD Blue HDD, 12TB Seagate Barracuda, 1TB Crucial SSD, 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD)

is your monitor a 100Hz panel? if so your max FPS can only get to 100 anyways (or at least thats all you can see out of it). Do you have Vsync on?

34 minutes ago, ShadowRohas said: