Choosing what I do for the foreseeable future

Helpful Tech Witch

I'm going to get to choose what I do for a good part of my life (collage, highschool and a job).

I love tech in general, and would eventually love a job in IT, like a system administrator or something similar.

What should I do? What degree do I need? I'm guessing CS but I'm not sure

I could use some help with this!

please, pm me if you would like to contribute to my gpu bios database (includes overclocking bios, stock bios, and upgrades to gpus via modding)

Bios database

My beautiful, but not that powerful, main PC:

prior build:

Spoiler

Really depends on your goals. Im a sysadmin now, without a CS degree, but CS is a good place to start.

Id try to get experience as well, look for internships, or IT related jobs you can get.

If you haven't started college yet (sounds like you're in high school or about to start high school?), see what technical classes your school offers. Take a few different ones, for example IT essentials or some general intro IT class for basics, computer science, programming, web design, networking. That's what I did to choose what field to go into and to make sure I wouldn't end up feeling like I wasted my time going to school or getting a job I didn't enjoy doing. Regardless of what specific part of IT you end up choosing, taking a general intro class and computer science class would be a good idea to get the basics. 

Edit: I also second what @Electronics Wizardy said about internships or entry level jobs, IT hiring managers really like applicants to have experience, which is a bit of a problem if you only go to school and don't get any experience. 

Edited by The_russian

33 minutes ago, The_russian said: