Dual GPU vs New Single GPU

Skeletor_118

I'm trying to figure out the best solution to upgrading my graphics card in my computer. I have heard a bit about dual graphics cards, and since I'm still learning a lot about computer building in all aspects, I'd like to hear what others have to say about it. I currently have an NVIDIA GTX 1060 3GB in my PC, though it is a preinstalled one (it's very barren with only one fan, and doesn't look fancy like ones I see listed online). I was thinking if it'd be better, when the time comes, to buy a second GTX 1060 and have a dual graphics card setup, or if I should just go for a single graphics card (I was looking at the GTX 1070 to upgrade to at some point). Overall my build is a prebuilt, since at the time I got it, I didn't know how to build a PC at all, and I was kinda pressed for time since my last computer basically bricked. I got the HP Pavilion gaming desktop at Best Buy, and the only part I have upgraded since getting it is the RAM, making it now 16GB from the base 8.

I have almost no clue what the differences between graphics cards is other than the basic fact that newer ones should generally provide better images. So I definitely appreciate any advice anyone can give me, since I've got little idea what I'm looking at/for.

You cant SLI 1060's

and besides to that, SLI is horrible for the 10 series. 

A 1070 or 1070ti would be a fine upgrade, but just make sure your power supply is adequate and your case has enough room.

Community Standards || Tech News Posting Guidelines

---======================================================================---

CPU: R5 3600 || GPU: RTX 3070|| Memory: 32GB @ 3200 || Cooler: Scythe Big Shuriken || PSU: 650W EVGA GM || Case: NR200P

Just now, Slottr said:

You cant SLI 1060's

and besides to that, SLI is horrible for the 10 series. 

A 1070 or 1070ti would be a fine upgrade, but just make sure your power supply is adequate and your case has enough room.