PC into 50's Television [Build Log]

Polku

So hello,

I'm new to this particular forum, but not new to tech-forums in general. What I tought is to hit the ground running and begin my path in these forums with a build log.

This is a idea I got at our local fleemarket couple of moths ago when I saw this nice looking old TV for sale there and tought "that would make one unique all-in-one-case" :) Unfortunately that particular one was priced over 200€ (somewhere around 250$) so it was bit too dear to become a base for experimental project. So little time passed and I found a one closer to my comfort zone at 50€. It is -58 or -59 17" hornyphon :lol: :

Edestauml_1.jpg

I first began with a stripdown:

20130820_181725.jpg

After emptying everything unnecessary, I started to experiment the layout of the case and this one was the one I'm currently going to carry out:

Emovirtalaumlhde_moc.jpg

So I went on to cannibilize a old M-atx case for motherboard tray and couple of other parts:

Ilmankuorta.jpg

http://i1212.photobucket.com/albums/cc443/Polku_86/Retro_TV_PC_project/Reunojasiistitty.jpg

http://i1212.photobucket.com/albums/cc443/Polku_86/Retro_TV_PC_project/Trayjavanhavaumllikatto.jpg

Next step was to create support structure for PSU and the storage drives (it's quite rough, but I let it slip because you can't actually see it from any angle when finished):

Paikallaanilmanmitaumlaumln_2.jpg

And then we come to the present moment. Earlier this week I cleaned off the old chipped and partially flat varnish and applied new varnish:

Ekapintasiklattu.jpg

Valmis.jpg

http://i1212.photobucket.com/albums/cc443/Polku_86/Retro_TV_PC_project/Jotainyritystaumlpintakuvasta.jpg