Newegg POSSIBLY shipping open-box items as new

Sauron

I stumbled across this video from Carey Holzman and I figured it was worth bringing to the forum's attention, since I'm sure a lot of us rely on Newegg for our hardware addiction.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sW_ypPNpU8A //video has been removed since I posted

Accoriding to Holzman he just received an open-box product that was ordered as new from Newegg for the 6th time. Now, of course he orders a LOT of parts from Newegg and therefore he's much more likely to stumble into this sort of thing, but if it's true (I see no reason not to believe him, but we can never be sure) it's still very unprofessional by Newegg, especially towards their customers in the pc building industry like Holzman. Still, I have no experience with Newegg at all (they're not in my country) so I have no idea what the situation actually looks like.

Make of it what you will, I just wanted to get this out there.

-UPDATE-

The original video has been removed and replaced by this:

Don't ask to ask, just ask... please 🤨

sudo chmod -R 000 /*

Over quite a few companies just have a special deals section with the already opened stuff like demo products and stuff that got sent back or stuff with damaged packaging. You can always get a good deal and the stuff wil always work. A lot of the stuff wil even go for near retail prices when in auction. 

"Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people."

Main rig:

i7-4790 - 24GB RAM - GTX 970 - Samsung 840 240GB Evo - 2x 2TB Seagate. - 4 monitors - G710+ - G600 - Zalman Z9U3

Other devices

Oneplus One 64GB Sandstone

Surface Pro 3 - i7 - 256Gb

Surface RT

Server:

SuperMicro something - Xeon e3 1220 V2 - 12GB RAM - 16TB of Seagates 

Happens all the time here.