Apple buys Camel Audio? Why do they want this...

Prastupok

camelaudio-1.8.2014-635x365.jpg

For those of you who don't know, I work in the music business. While I haven't used the Alchemy software extensively, I have used it. It's not bad at all. But now, apparently Apple wants in. I'm trying to figure this one out... they have the mainstream audio market by the cajones already with Beats audio, which has over 60% market share in that segment. But now, they are delving into pro audio solutions. Unless this is to market for GarageBand, I'm not too excited to see them scoop bigger companies that I actually use, which they (as we all know) can afford. If they do more of this, they could very well monopolize a great number of markets.

"Apple appears to have acquired popular music plug-in and effect maker Camel Audio, based on information found on corporate registry site Companies House [PDF]. Camel Audio's address has been updated to 100 New Bridge Street, which is Apple's London address, and the company's sole director is now listed as Apple lawyer Heather Joy Morrison, suggesting the company is in the possession of Apple. "

Why, Apple? Tell us all why you must compete with everyone? Is it some sort of corporate short-man syndrome? Help us understand!

Sources: The Verge, MacRumors

The projects never end in my line of work.

CPU: Dual Xeon E5-2650v2 || GPU: Dual Quadro K5000 || Motherboard: Asus Z9PE-D8 || RAM: 64GB Corsair Vengeance || Monitors: Dual LG 34UM95, NEC MultiSync EA244UHD || Storage: Dual Samsung 850 Pro 256GB in Raid 0, 6x WD Re 4TB in Raid 1 || Sound: Xonar Essense STX (Mainly for Troubleshooting and listening test) || PSU: Corsair Ax1500i

CPU: Core i7 5820k @ 4.7GHz || GPU: Dual Titan X || Motherboard: Asus X99 Deluxe || RAM: 32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport || Monitors: MX299Q, 29UB65, LG 34UM95 || Storage: Dual Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB in Raid 0, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, 2TB Toshiba scratch disk, 3TB Seagate Barracuda || PSU: EVGA 1000w PS Platinum