I hate Chrome, and you should too (yes, this is a rant)

MG2R

I should actually be in bed right now, but I must get this out of my system, because I won't be able to sleep otherwise. Here goes...

<rant>

I'm forced to use Chrome on my laptop, because, for some reason I fail to comprehend, Firefox keeps crashing. I have always used FF ever since I learned that there were other browsers besides IE. I love FF, it does everything I want it to do and more. I get a lot of misunderstanding because 'Chrome is so much faster'.

Right now I have been using Chrome for two months straight, every day. Again, not willingly, forced. I hate it. Yes, it has a sleek UI and yes, it runs JavaScript quite well. But man is it idiotically designed. A lot of people have mad a lot of arguments about who has the most plugins and so on and so forth, but there is one thing everybody missed: GROUPED TABS.

Holy crap. Are the developers of Chromium (and thus Chrome) that blind? A quick search will render you multiple threads about that one missing feature, some even dating back till 2009! 

I'm a heavy tab user. On a regular day (when using FF on my desktop), I will have about 20 to 30 tabs open about the thing I'm working on at that time. In the background, I'll have groups of tabs related to other projects. Whenever I switch projects, I simply switch out the tab group and I'm back where I left off the last time.

On Chrome, the moment you open up more than ~15 tabs, the title is only one letter long. At ~20 tabs, you only see the favicon. At ~40 tabs, the favicon disappears and you're left with a whole bunch of completely indistinguishable tabs. And I'm really pushing at here... At 15 tabs, the tabs get indistinguishable as well if you visit multiple pages of one website. There is no way to group them except for opening loads of windows. With easily more then ten tab groups, that's not really feasible.