I5-4670K overclocking advice

Dr. G

Hi everyone,

I'm a long-time Linus Tech Tips follower, first time poster :) 

I finally upgraded my old socket AM3 system to a LGA 1150/Z97 board, and I'm learning about overclocking Intel systems. 

I'm running a 4670K processor, and I've already had pretty good luck with overclocking. So far, I've been able to hit 4.4ghz with a vcore of 1.25, and my temperatures during x264 stress tests max out at 72C, running a 212 plus air cooler. At 4.5ghz (1.25vcore) the system will BSOD after just a few minutes of stress testing. 

I understand that Haswell CPU's start to heat up rather quickly past 1.25v.....but i'm curious about increasing my vcore slightly, and seeing if I can eek out another 100mhz or two. Given that i'm only hitting low 70's in temperatures, I figure I have a bit of thermal headroom....as I understand 80C is OK for a 24/7 system. 

Any advice or suggestions would be helpful. 

Thanks. 

80°C would probably be OK for a chip but permanently a little bit to much stress for the hardware if you ask me. What are you doing to it in every day use? You might never hit even 70 with your 1.25VCore in every day use?

http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/334934-unofficial-ltt-beginners-guide/ (by Minibois) and a few things that will make our community interaction more pleasent:
1. FOLLOW your own topics                                                                                2.Try to QUOTE people so we can read through things easier
3.Use
PCPARTPICKER.COM - easy and most importantly approved here        4.Mark your topics SOLVED if they are                                
Don't change a running system