Technical barriers to entry for PC gaming

xurtis

TL;DR: mostly a rant about how high the bar for technical knowledge seems to be to enjoy the benefits of PC gaming; perhaps looking for ways to call out those in the industry who can lower that bar but who don’t seem to have put sufficient thought into it.

I'm a software engineer but not much of a PC gamer myself but I have many friends who are, although some of them are not as technically savvy.

I've recently been helping a friend out getting a new laptop, setting up windows (I'm primarily a Linux user) and installing some of their preferred games.

I'm astounded by how hard each step of this process has been and how much technical knowledge is required to get through it all; I'd forgive them for getting overwhelmed and giving up.

Simply logging in to windows for the first time took hours; they didn't think they already had a  Microsoft account and didn't really want to have Microsoft having so much control over the device.  Setting up a new Microsoft account was a pain; it turned out they did already have one but the process of resetting the password seemingly obliterated it and we tried to create a new one. We made it all the way up to a screen to enter a code to verify the email address of the new account and they spotted a button to skip using a Microsoft account to set up Win11 that MS had seemingly forgotten to remove… so we managed to set up the computer without a Microsoft account in the end.