I've accidentally become the IT guy at my office. I could use some advice, tips, and help.

Enginerd
Go to solution Solved by WilliamsKnights,

I work in IT for a top Fortune 500 company with over 50,000 direct staff + thousands of consultants, agency and managed services employees etc.

I'm sure if the originator truly works for a Fortune 5000 company they will have a IT dept with many staff, however there will always be satellite offices where someone becomes the 'IT guy'.  Despite my companies size, we operate in most countries in the world so have some satellite offices with 5-50 staff. We have remote site assistance through IT and local support available through a third parties but there is often an 'IT Guy' that helps out.

There are circumstances where the issue can be fixed locally by the 'IT guy' instead of calling for support.

If a user has a laptop issue, Say screen rotated and users cannot remember the key combination to return to normal service. They call the local 'IT guy' instead of turning head and googling it.  A phone stops working and they need a new one connected and IP set. A cable needs replacing etc.. It's nmore efficient to have local IT guy perform the work than wait for corp IT to send someone out.

You would not expect the local 'IT Guy' to start swapping drives or things like this as a Fortune 500 company would get a vendor out for that. You have warranties and contracts  to consider. That being stated. If your office is having a monitor upgrade, A vendor may ship the monitors to the location and if a suitable proficient person is available ask them to install them. 

The local managers always under value (and sometimes resent) the corp IT so having someone local they can oversea is also a motivating factor.

Anyhow. Back to original question.

Generally from what I have seen over last 30+ years working in IT. Start off doing what you are comfortable with and develop your skills.