Create an RGB/LED/Lighting Sub-forum? 💡

Nimoy007

Considering the number of questions I've seen about RGB/LED/Lighting💡and how specific to that topic the questions usually are, I suggest that a separate sub be made for RGB. I noticed that this suggestion was made several times in 2017, but hasn't really been brought up since then (AFAIK).

I have recently been trying to help out by answering questions about RGB since I have a lot of experience with different RGB technologies and an electrical engineering🔌🔧 background, so it'd be nice to have them all housed in one place. RGB seems to be a growing facet of custom PC building, and it can be tricky knowing what to look for. I know that some questions could be easily answered in a single guide/stickied post, but users will always have certain situations that require more in-depth answers. RGB isn't always a trivial matter.

The arguments that I can see against giving RGB its own place are as follows:

• The Modding sub-forum currently hosts RGB/LED/Lighting questions
  • There are RGB and LED sections on the Modding FAQ thread (but I don't think they are extensive enough considering the breadth of the RGB topic and the different topics in the FAQ will sometimes overlap when providing a complete solution to a user's forum question. Also, that thread was started in 2016. Sorry, @W-L :P)
  • It can fit into other categories depending on what it's attached to (Cases, Air Cooling, Liquid Cooling, Motherboards/Memory, Peripherals, Graphics Cards)
  • It may fit in Troubleshooting (but only really when someone has an issue)

I personally think that the benefits of giving RGB/LED/Lighting its own sub-forum outweigh the risks of fragmentation, but I'd love to get more input form users and mods. Obviously regardless of user feedback, it's ultimately up to the mods who have the final word on this, so no pouty 😒 faces in the event that this suggestion falls through.