Can I simply upgrade?

PCNoob1

Hello all!

I have a MSI B450 Tomahawk Max motherboard and am currently running a Ryzen 5 3600 CPU, with a 2060 super. If I were to upgrade to a 3070, would I be able to do so cleanly? Aka, can I just take out the 2060s and plug in the 3070 or will I need a new motherboard and or CPU. Sorry in advance, I am brand new to pc's and my friends basically built my entire system besides the motherboard, I did that part. 

1 minute ago, PCNoob1 said:

Hello all!

I have a MSI B450 Tomahawk Max motherboard and am currently running a Ryzen 5 3600 CPU, with a 2060 super. If I were to upgrade to a 3070, would I be able to do so cleanly? Aka, can I just take out the 2060s and plug in the 3070 or will I need a new motherboard and or CPU. Sorry in advance, I am brand new to pc's and my friends basically built my entire system besides the motherboard, I did that part. 

just swap cards, install new drivers all good to go.  No need to swap anything else out

Current Rig=  AMD Ryzen 9 5900x, Asus Crosshair Hero VIII, EVGA RTX 3070 FTW3 ultra, 32gb Corsair Vengence Pro RGB 3000hz White, EVGA 750 P2 PSU, 1TB Samsung 980 Pro, 500gb samsung 860 evo, 250GB Samsung 850 evo, 2TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus, 2TB seagate firecuda sshd,  LianLi PC 011 Dynamic XL ROG edition, Corsair h150i elite capelix

Just now, PCNoob1 said:

I'm gonna go with "yeah probably", because while those parts you mentioned would be fine with an RTX 3070, I would have to know what PSU you have to fully confirm it.

Plus, the card needs to fit in the case too; so it depends on what specific card you choose and what case you have.

So in short, please mention the PSU you have, so we can confirm that will work and double-check the size of the card you're choosing and see if that fits in your case.

"We're all in this together, might as well be friends" Tom, Toonami.