Google suspends podcast app for having podcasts about covid-19

hui

Source: 

It's a great podcast app that I've been using for the past 3 years and it saddens me to say that it's gotten removed for content that is beyond the app's control. As the author of the tweet says, the same podcasts exist on Google's own podcast app. Posting here so it may get some attention, and hopefully get the issue resolved for the sole developer of this app. 

In general I don't like it when this happens to free stuff but in this case the app was or is not free. It is ad supported, and given the number of downloads and active installs I'd bet he or she made a lot of money off it too.

Also there are other places to upload the app but I am guessing none with a similar ad payment system in place.

Many platforms are cracking down on corona based content due to the shear amount of misinformation being spread around like a roomba running over a dog turd.

41 minutes ago, Applefreak said:

In general I don't like it when this happens to free stuff but in this case the app was or is not free. It is ad supported, and given the number of downloads and active installs I'd bet he or she made a lot of money off it too.

Also there are other places to upload the app but I am guessing none with a similar ad payment system in place.

The app is free, with a paid version to get rid of the ads. The number of downloads are irrelevant, especially since the app has been on the store for ages (and Google's solution to this to submit a new app with a new app name and package name (source: https://twitter.com/PodcastAddict/status/1261671685477941253?s=20) ) and the same podcasts are available on Google's podcast app.