Thinking of swapping from Apple to Android...any pros/cons I should be aware of?

As the title suggests, I'm thinking of upgrading my current iPhone SE (1st gen) to something a little bit more modern.  I don't really use my phone for much else other than light puzzle games, social media and managing my business - but I'm thinking of making the swap to Android after being a long time Apple user.

Looking at a budget of around $1k AUD maximum... let me know if you have any recommendations for either platform :)

EDIT: Additional info from a reply I made further down.

I've had lots of positive experiences so far with the 1st gen SE. 

But there are lots of software/hardware issues currently that I'm dealing with.

• Battery is no longer reliable and drains fast - I've had multiple shutdowns and reboots when my phone has displayed up to 25% current battery capcacity
  • Load times on apps are increasing rapidly, and becoming slow/unresponsive very frequently - sometimes the phone will lock itself in a horizontal landscape even when vertical, resulting in a restart being required
  • Occasionally stuck in a boot loop - quite scary as this happened once when updating my phone, ended up wiping a lot of critical data that I had neglected to back up on the cloud... silly me
  • Buttons no longer working or working when they feel like it - Touch ID sensor is cooked, work about 25% of the time.  Lock screen button occasionally faulty.  Not the end of the world, but a nuisance

The above is a bit of a smorgasboard of hardware/software fixes, and even if I invest in replacing parts myself (battery, home button etc), it is likely that software issues will still remain.  And the CPU in the 1st gen SE is not really keeping up I feel.

Some things that I wish were better, or that I would love to have on my phone: