Replacing PSU Fan.... a really stupid idea?

LaboonTheWhale

Hey guys

So I have the Corsair SF600 and the fan is quite noisy as many have stated. i have a noctua 92mm i wanted to replace the original with.

I hear that opening the PSU can be a bad idea as you can shock yourself. I dont consider myself an absolute novice tinkering on PCs but definitely no seasoned veteran.

I would love to replace it with a smaller fan but should i not risk it?

You'll void the warranty, but as long as you aren't jabbing screwdrivers into it you should be fine.  Attempt to boot the system with the PSU unplugged from the wall to discharge it.

Workstation:  14700nonk || Asus Z790 ProArt Creator || MSI Gaming Trio 4090 Shunt || Crucial Pro Overclocking 32GB @ 5600 || Corsair AX1600i@240V || whole-house loop.

LANRig/GuestGamingBox: 9900nonK || Gigabyte Z390 Master || ASUS TUF 3090 650W shunt || Corsair SF600 || CPU+GPU watercooled 280 rad pull only || whole-house loop.

Server Router (Untangle): 13600k @ Stock || ASRock Z690 ITX || All 10Gbe || 2x8GB 3200 || PicoPSU 150W 24pin + AX1200i on CPU|| whole-house loop

Server Compute/Storage: 10850K @ 5.1Ghz || Gigabyte Z490 Ultra || EVGA FTW3 3090 1000W || LSI 9280i-24 port || 4TB Samsung 860 Evo, 5x10TB Seagate Enterprise Raid 6, 4x8TB Seagate Archive Backup ||  whole-house loop.

Laptop: HP Elitebook 840 G8 (Intel 1185G7) + 3080Ti Thunderbolt Dock, Razer Blade Stealth 13" 2017 (Intel 8550U)

Well I wouldn’t go smaller. I’d get the same size. Replaced my old fan with some Corsair case fan. Also ran the rpm wire to my mobo so I could see the rpm too. 

I didnt die but you also don’t have to touch anything in the psu. Just unplug the fan and plug the other one in once you attach these cable. 

Main RIg Corsair Air 540, I7 9900k, ASUS ROG Maximus XI Hero, G.Skill Ripjaws 3600 32GB, 3090FE, EVGA 1000G5, Acer Nitro XZ3 2560 x 1440@240hz