[Build Log] Silent Minimalist - CaseLabs SMA8(a) WC'd Threadripper Style

caselabs-zeus-2.0-magnum-sma8-a-revision-495.jpg

**Disclaimer** - The above pic of the CaseLabs case is not my build.  Though it is gorgeous :D.

First post here on the LTT forums (mainstay over at OCN).  Thought I'd introduce myself and get to know everyone over here by starting my new build log.  This is my first build since 2014 (see my Puff's Punisher S3 Build).  I was forced to sell that build shortly after building it due to a sudden move and I've been itching for a new build ever since.  Well, today (or in a month when my SMA8 rev. A arrives) is the day.

This build will be my daily workstation that focuses on VM's, mining, and a little gaming on the side.  So a little bit for everyone.  For these purposes I've chosen to build around the Threadripper 1950x and x399 platform.  Below is a list of components I've ordered/will be ordering and it will be updated regularly along with images as parts arrive.  Feel free to chime in to discuss the physical components or the daily uses for this build as there are many.  Links are to where I purchased these items though the prices have changed on some since I purchased them.

Workstation Components

WaterCooling

The goal of this water loop is to get as silent of cooling as possible.  I'll be using ultra low speed fans and doing two loops.

Monitor

Dell U3818DW 38" Ultrawide 3840x1600 Monitor (yes not a gaming monitor, but then again I game maybe once/twice a month)

I've heard there are issues using SW3 PWM fans with the Aquaero controller.  Can anyone with experience comment on this? 

5 minutes ago, Bajantechnician said:

That monitor looks pretty sweet

I already love it.  I never could make the switch from dual monitors two a single ultrawide because I felt the 34" wasn't big enough.  I think 38" is the perfect sweet spot.

3 hours ago, IamSpartacus said: