SteamOS will be available to download on December 13th

Gunzkewl

On December 13th, Valve will ship a prototype Steam Machine to 300 lucky fans, including a powerful upgradable chassis, a Steam Controller, and the Linux-based SteamOS, the company announced today. The rest of us get a consolation prize, however: Valve will also make SteamOS available for everyone when the prototypes ship.

While the company suggests that the new operating system won't necessarily be easy to install — "unless you're an intrepid Linux hacker already, we're going to recommend that you wait until later in 2014 to try it out," says Valve — it means that we should get a deeper look at how it works and how it performs ahead of the company's CES announcements.

Source:http://www.theverge.com/2013/12/11/5201030/steamos-will-be-available-to-download-on-december-13th

Too bad I'm a noob in Linux :(

I don't really care seeing as I'm not an intrepid linux hacker.

| 5820k+EK supremacy nickel+acetal white 4.5Ghz | X99 Deluxe | Enthoo Luxe | 2x gtx780+komod NV full cover block | Corsair AX1200i | WD blue 500gb |

Kingston V300 120gb | Samsung 840 Evo 500gb| Bitspower D5 vario+Res combo | primochill advanced LRT tubing (Solid White) |

| Alphacool Nexxos MONSTA dual 120mm Black Ice nemesis GTX360 triple 120mm | Noctua NF-F12 X4 | Bitspower true silver 1/2ID 3/4 OD compressions (various angles) |

I don't really care seeing as I'm not an intrepid linux hacker.

there are variants of windows that are for more simplistic users

will streaming work on day one? Probably not seeing as the closed beta hasn't even started yet or has it? Someone correct me if I'm wrong

Finally my Santa hat doesn't look out of place

Awesome, starting from tomorrow youtubers can start removing that annoying $100 OS cost from build guides, looking at you Linus !

Awesome, starting from tomorrow youtubers can start removing that annoying $100 OS cost from build guides, looking at you Linus !