C Programming

Br3tt96

So I've never had any coding experience before, and have always leaned towards the hardware side of things. My degree is Tech Management which requires a Basic C course. My prof seems like a cool guy, buy he goes over his power points for a bit and hops right into coding. Now it's only the end of week two, so we haven't learned much, and what he has done everyone just copies him off of the projector.  Anyway he straps with a real bear of a first homework assignment. We're using CodeBlocks for all of this ... Any help on this would be much appreciated!!!

Here's where I am at and lost 

/* comments go here */

#include <stdio.h>
int main() {

// declarations

A directly connected telephone network is one in which all telephones in the network are directly connected and do not require a central switching station ti establish calls between two telephones. For example, financial institutions on Wall Street use such a network to maintain direct and continuously open phone lines between firms.

The number of direct lines needed to maintain a directly connected network for n telephones, is given by the formula 

lines= n(n-1)/2

For example, directly connecting four telephones requires six individual lines. Adding a fifth telephone to this network would require an additional four lines for a total of ten lines.

Using the given formula, write a C program that determines the number of direct lines requried for the 100 telephones, and the additional lines required if 10 new telephones were added to the network. 

Spoiler

LTT's Fastest single core CineBench 11.5/15 score on air with i7-4790K on air

Main Rig

CPU: i7-4770K @ 4.3GHz 1.18v, Cooler: Noctua NH-U14S, Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth Mark 2, RAM: 16 GB G.Skill Sniper Series @ 1866MHz, GPU: EVGA 980Ti Classified @ 1507/1977MHz , Storage: 500GB 850 EVO, WD Cavier Black/Blue 1TB+1TB,  Power Supply: Corsair HX 750W, Case: Fractal Design r4 Black Pearl w/ Window, OS: Windows 10 Home 64bit