Requesting Advice on CompSci Degree

BallGum

Hey guys. 
Currently considering a Comp Sci Degree and I'm over in the UK.

I'm browsing through various university's computer science courses; and I just would like to ask what I should be aware of when looking at what their course entails; whether there are specific topics that are more important than others.

Any help is massively appreciated.

Tea, Metal, and poorly written code.

computer science deals with the logic of how computers work. It's very heavy on math and logic. It also deals with a lot of scientific theories as well as applied sciences in the realm of information processing and computing. That's the best way I can describe it.

A funny incident happened in college when I helped a computer science professor set up his laptop because he couldn't get it to display through the HDMI to the projector. I have a psychology degree but I took a computer science class in my senior year as a blowoff class to satisfy 3 credits. But you would think that a computer science professor would understand how to set up a 2nd display. But many computer scientists don't really work with hardware as much as you or I. They are focused on the theories and science behind computer technology.

I get 60 frames at 1080p on a dual core APU. Ask me how.

AMD FX 8350 CPU / R9 280X GPU / Asus M5A97 LE R 2.0 motherboard / 8GB Kingston HyperX Blue 1600 RAM / 128G OCZ Vertex 4 SSD / 256G Crucial SSD / 2T WD Black HDD / 1T Seagate Barracude HDD / Antec Earthwatts 650W PSU / Coolermaster HAF 922 Case

I would say that the things to look for very much depend on what it is you want to be doing as a career or where you want to take your current career. More information would certainly be helpful; right now we know nothing about you other than the fact that you are considering a Computer Science degree.

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place.