Suggestions for quitet, mechanical keyboard?

Ja2016

Just looking around for a quiet mechanical keyboard to replace my corsair k55 rgb that's served me well for 3 years. I have very little knowledge of keyboards but are linear switches the right ones to go for?

Linear would certainly be quieter than clicky and tactile, but some keyboard brands are putting extra features to help with sound, like the Keychron Q series. I'm considering their full-size Q6 with tactile switches for my office work because my current Cherry MX Brown can be heard quite clearly on video calls. From their description:

In addition to the gaskets on the plates, we added silicone pads between the top and bottom cases to significantly reduce the sound resonance between the metals and reduce the noise of the impacted metals. This design allows the keyboard to maintain the flexibility of the gasket structure and improves the overall typing sound.

5600x/RTX 4080

“1. Never tell everything at once.” - Ken Venturi's Two Great Rules of Life

What is your budget?

If you want a more quiet mechanical keyboard, you should look into silent switches. They are just like normal switches, but their stems are padded to minimize the plastic on plastic thoc. Or, you can o-ring mod your current keyboard, but o-ring mod makes a mechanical keyboard feel like rubber dome keyboard in my opinion.

If you still want the mechanical keyboard feel, I will advise using lighter switches. If you are already using Cherry reds, then Cherry speeds are the only next lowest. I have speeds before. For me, it is a lot like touch typing. I rarely bottom out when typing.

The best option may be building out a keyboard. This is heavily depending on your budget of course. Usually it is in the $200 range, any lower you will have to go research around.

Full time technology enthusiast, part time IT.

For accurate typing I much prefer a good tactile switch so that I get a good feedback when typing.