Home network upgrade (Ubiquiti)

Hello !

I have heard about Ubiquit's products for a while and was trying to get better network hardware for my house.

My ISP gave me a HUGE box which is an all-in-one box (router, switch, AP) that I would like to replace with something more compact, more powerful and with many more administrative capabilities. This box has a SFP+ Simplex Fiber SC connector where my internet comes in.

Since this would be my first hands-on experiment and I am not a network expert, however I do understand well the concepts, I would like to ask for some advice.

From what I understand I would need a router, a switch and some APs. The following are my current selection so far:

Router - For the router I am considering the UISP Router. Would I be able to connect my ISP's fiber cable to this piece of hardware given than I use a correct SPF+ adapter?

Switch - For the switch I am thinkin of the UISP Switch

I can see that the router and the switch both have RJ45 connectors. Is a switch really necessary? Can I just connect my wired devices to the router's RJ45s?

AP - For the access points that I want to deploy at my bedroom and living room I am considering the In-Wall HD

I would appreciate if somebody could shed some light to the configuration drafted here. I am most worried about being able to connect my fiber cable to any new hardware I buy and get internet connection. I would appreciate if we could keep the conversation only related to Ubiquiti's hardware.

Edited by BRabbit27

9 hours ago, BRabbit27 said:

worried about being able to connect my fiber cable to any new hardware I buy and get internet connection. I would appreciate if we could keep the conversation only related to Ubiquiti's hardware.