Apple M1, and generally laptops

I'm seriously a bit angry about it. Maybe you can help me somehow, maybe there is something I just don't see.

I'm a software dev and I use laptop. Not because I like to sit on a couch with it, not because I work during commute or whatever that would require better battery life. I need my computer to be portable and with attached screen because sometimes I need to bring my laptop to work, sometimes I need to take it back to my parents house when I'm visiting.

The thing is though, I never need to use it in a scenario where there is no plug near me which I can use. I honestly wouldn't notice if my laptop didn't have battery after all - I always have it plugged in (also because of the days where plugging out would decrease performance). I'm currently running macbook pro (last available when you could still buy it without touchbar) and it pisses me off that most of this laptop internals is a battery. I don't care. And now, M1 is here. Great. I see reviews (for example Dave 2D) which pretty much completely focus on battery life and I, honestly, couldn't care any less.

I don't need 2x battery life, what I need is more RAM (and in case of current M1, really more RAM, I'm running VM's which take more than 20GB sometimes) and better CPU (and this again, Docker for now on new M1 chips isn't working afaik), and to me, if you say that hey, 2x battery life - it means that they could have halved the battery size and make use of this space in a different way.

So I don't know, is there anything that does that? I would kill for a non-gaming oriented laptop with strong, PC league, CPU, 64GB of RAM and it could even not sport any battery at all.

Does Apple have software that allows you to keep the battery charged to at max 60 or 80% to maintain longevity? Something similar to this:
image.png.41a3a9126692cdcd0241a149e318890a.png