Best cooling performance for least noise?

malawar

Hi,

I'm fairly new to building PCs and I'm planning a workstation that will handle some heavy tasks. I haven't decided on all the components yet (listed some at the end of this post). I guess I'm trying to find the cooling solution that will give me the most performance for the least amount of noise. Or some sweet spot in the middle since a "maximum performance for zero noise"  isn't really realistic at this time. Noise is essentially generated by moving components so I'm trying to limit those as much as possible. Or, if I can keep my system cool enough, it won't have to generate as much noise since it's cooled effectively.

I wrote down some thoughts on the different paths I could take for cooling. I would appreciate any advice or feedback on them.

Custom water loop:

I like this option even though it's more of a hassle. I don't mind going for it if it's really better in terms of cooling and noise. I can't find any good resources that compare custom water cooling effectiveness/noise to other solutions. I think it has more moving parts than the other 2 solutions though?

• Pros: can cool multiple components - more effective than AIO or air cooling? - awesome aesthetics - can be fun maintaining it if you're an enthusiast
  • Cons: more expensive? - more complicated - more maintenance - loud?

AIO (liquid cooling):

I've shortlisted the ARCTIC Liquid Freezer II 360 for this option. Though I can't decide whether there's any real value in jumping from 360 to 420.

• Pros: easy installation - effective cooling - can look better than air cooling
  • Cons: the loudest relatively speaking? - only cools one component (cpu)? - hard to tell if it fails compared to air cooling

Air cooling:

NH-D15S or Dark Rock 4. As far as I can see and read, this solution is quiet until you start overclocking and the fans start ramping up? Also can't really decide which model is better on the line up.