Is there any downside to using liquid metal for cooling

Go to solution Solved by XR6,
4 minutes ago, chedd said:

Ok, thanks so I think thermal paste would be better in my case since I'm a beginner and I've also only built 1 system before. Do you have any recommendation for good thermal paste?

Thermal Grizzly Cryonaut and Arctic Silver 5 are pretty good. 

As the title states, I'm trying to find if there are any downsides to using liquid metal cooling. I'm planning on buying an I7 9700k and OC it with custom water cooling, but so I don't waste money I am trying to figure out what to use for

"Thermal paste".

Potential that if you apply too much and a drop comes out of the side it will fall on something important and kill your PC.

Also apparently it needs to be reapplied every year or so if it dries out.

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler

Ryzen 3950X | AMD Vega Frontier Edition | ASUS X570 Pro WS | Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB | NZXT H500 | Seasonic Prime Fanless TX-700 | Custom loop | Coolermaster SK630 White | Logitech MX Master 2S | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Pro 512GB | Samsung 58" 4k TV | Scarlett 2i4 | 2x AT2020

3 minutes ago, Enderman said:

Potential that if you apply too much and a drop comes out of the side it will fall on something important and kill your PC.

I've also heard that you'll be a lot cooler with heavy metal, or even death metal.

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.

If you don't mind changing it annually and taking the risk of a leak killing your components then yeah it's fine but if you don't want that then just get a good quality thermal paste.

2 minutes ago, Enderman said: