i5-4690k. I r noob attempting overclock.

i5-4590k currently OC'ed to 4.5@1.310 volts. Small Prime FFT test hit 90C, only 76C on "1344" stability test. (Cooler is NH-D15)

8GBx2 1600Mhz PNY RAM.

Tower: HAF-X, default number of fans that it ships with.

Gigabyte G1. Sniper Z97

GTX 1070 (not overclocked)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last Sunday I got my NH-D15 in the mail, and installed it immediately. Then i went to this site: http://overclocking.guide/gigabyte-g1-sniper-z97/ and followed the instructions in the video. I am completely new to anything overclocking so I just kept my head low and just followed the instructions on the vid exactly. Save the the memory profile, because i don't know what to do with that.

Like the video suggested I disabled all turbo boost, and power saving features. Then i started by just raising the multiplier to 43, and voltage to 1.250 and manually set the other voltage settings to exactly what was seen in the vid.

I ran the latest version of Prime95 at 1344 to 1344, FFT in place, and 15 minutes and let it run for 30 minutes. Was fine, and i jumped to a multiplier of 46 and a voltage of 1.325 and the system wouldn't even start windows. So far, messing with only the multiplier, core voltage, and literally nothing else i seem to have (form 30 minute test mind you) a stable of 4.5 at 1.310v...though i think i could get away with just 1.3v for 45.

Running the stability 1344 test, tempts didn't go above 76C, but if i specifically push for heat and use Small FFT on prime95 one of my cores maxes out at 90C.

so two questions:

1) i was told to not let the tempts go above 90C, and i ask: Should i base that limit on the stress test tempts, or the Heat test tempts? because i can get more voltage room if i go off the stress test version.