8086k strangely hot

RollTime
Go to solution Solved by SenKa,

yeah, thats a bad pump.

It can work but work not enough to actually cool properly. Had this issue with an old Corsair AIO I got scammed on off a local seller.

Buy a new cooler and enjoy your CPU :)

I have a delidded 8086k, set up with a corsair h110i and two ll140 fans. I'm using IC Diamond 7. I'm not experienced with overclocking, so I'm using the Intel XTU. I've overclocked it to 4.9 GHz. My temps always jump to 99 C very fast in any stress test and it thermal throttles instantly.

The delidding was done by Silicon Lottery, so I'm inclined to trust them to have done it correctly. I did, however, buy the H110i off of ebay, and it doesnt seem to work perfectly with iCue, so I think that could be part of it if the temps aren't normal. I tightened all the mounting screws as tightly as I could with just my fingers.

Is this a normal temp when overclocking like this, or is it an issue?

it's time

Whats the voltage?

aorus pro z390

noctua nh-d15s chromax w black cover

evga 3070 ultra

samsung 128gb, adata swordfish 1tb, wd blue 1tb

seasonic 620w dogballs psu

2 minutes ago, mxk. said:

Whats the voltage?

CPU-Z says 1.26v.

it's time

2 minutes ago, RollTime said:

CPU-Z says 1.26v.

Wow, ok. Something seems up with the cooler. Check if the pump is running.

aorus pro z390

evga 3070 ultra

Just now, mxk. said:

Wow, ok. Something seems up with the cooler. Check if the pump is running.

I think it is- the block is vibrating slightly.

Honestly, it's used and clearly starting to deteriorate. I just wanted to make sure it wasn't anything else before I shelled out for a new one.

it's time

Just now, schwellmo92 said:

Is the cooler pump running and the fan spinning? Is the radiator setup as intake or exhaust?

Yes, yes, and it's set up as intake.

See my other post, however- I think it's just old, it sometimes makes a strange rattling sound that might be air in the tubes. I think it's time for a new one.