GPUs in PS3/X360... how did they do it?

VG Docs

I've been doing a bit of research lately on the components of the 7th gen and 8th gen consoles. The 8th gen consoles make sense in terms of how they're making a profit. The PC equivalent (Or close to, at least) GPUs aren't very expensive, so I can see how Microsoft and Sony would be making a profit off them. 

In my (small amount) research, I found that the PS3's GPU is (on a basic explanation) nearly the same as a 7800 GTX. The Xbox 360's uses the R420 GPU, although I'm not familiar with it (I started learning tech stuff after 2010), it seems that the Radeon X8xx series is what uses that GPU. As far as I'm aware, the 7800 GTX is very similar in performance to the X8xx series cards. The retail price seems to be $600 for the 7800 GTX.

If that's true, then how in the world did Microsoft and Sony make a profit off those consoles? Also, why does it seem to be that the PS3/X360's GPUs are so much better for the time they came out?

Previously Trogdor8freebird

5800x | Asus x570 Pro Wifi (barely enough for 64GB apparently given it's 2133 and still crashes sometimes) | 64GB DDR4 | 3070 Ti 8GB | Love that whole weeb shit

They made profit off of the games. 

With huge licensing fees and rigorous pricing, Microsoft and Sony was able to turn their losses into a profit.

These videos should explain everything pretty well. 

#SAMSUNG  "provided us 4 1tb ssds so we could run the whole site off solid state." - LinusTech

#GALAXY

#ATIV

PS3 has pretty much a straight up 7800GTX. Console manufacturers obviously implemented them at reduced cost from NVIDIA and AMD, but remember that on launch these consoles were still hella expensive. Even then though, the hardware wasn't the profit point, it was the accessories and games

"Rawr XD"

Every time Sony sold a PS3, they actually lost a lot of profit. But they made it back in games, overpriced accessories etc.