VM license and setup of software?

I'm looking a build a slightly older server using dual Xeon 6 core 3ghz on a 1366 board. 64gb ram. Found a great deal

I'm new to the idea of Virtual machines and don't know if it's my best route to go.

I will need 4 work areas all with the same software nothing crazy powerful needed.   Older p4's and mini atoms will run the software.  I have my choice of windows keys or linux keys. I'm trying to circumvent buying 4 copies of all the software I need. Would vms be the way to go? I have server 03,08,12 as well as windows 3.1 - 10 and a hand full of license keys for them all. Unless VM or clients require special license. Do they?  Sorry I'm not new to PC's I'm just new to server software...   I have some for hosting webpages and email and storage, but I paid to have them setup years ago.

i9 9820x @4.2 - MSI X299 Sli plus - 32gb Quad DDR4 G.skill3400 - MSI Gaming x 2070 Super - EVGA 1300 SupernovaG2 Gold -  500NVME WD Blue & Optane 32gb + WD Blue4tb - Enermax 360Aio - Vigor GK80 - MSI DS200 - Dual MSI Mag 271R

building - supermicro x9 - e5-2660 128gbddr3

supermicro x8 - e5648 24gb ddr3

Well, Linux doesn't require any licenses at all, and Windows 10 can be run just fine without a license, as long as you remember that it means you can customize the desktop's looks much.

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.

Look at the linence of your software, but you probably need 4 copies of the software. When the software is running in the vm it thinks its running in a normal pc.

FOr the hypervisor is look at vmware esxi and proxmox, depending on budget and hardware, and preference.

For guest os that people remote into id use windows 10 as its the most secure and will be supported for the longest. Don't use vista or older as its not supported and security is a mess.