I'm an aerospace engineering student: Ask me about the field if you're interested.

Hi all,

The title pretty much says it all. If there is anything you wanna know or discuss feel free to comment.

F-22-Raptor.jpg

Edit: Ooo, pretty colours.

It is possible for a neutron star to use its largely proportioned gravity to attract masses of gas to its area,  creating a new star? If so, would this star be a giant due to the huge amount of gravity present within it? Would the gravity simply create a slightly larger neutron star and not cause nuclear fission? If nuclear fission was achieved, is it possible that the outward force of the reactions would be enough to counteract its own gravity, as the neutron star has so much mass. In all of this, is it possible that such a star would have a shorter lifespan due to the numerous asteroids that would also be attracted by the large amount of gravity in the area, most of which containing iron? If i am correct, iron cannot fuse together to create energy. When enough iron is built up in the core, the gravity of the star crushes itself, as not enough power is being generated by the nuclear reaction to make it stable. Even then, that is only if the gravity of the neutron star is too great already...

It looks as if the peasants have risen up, and found swords!

But their sword's look a little short, if you know what I mean!

Good! The squires need training anyway!

46 minutes ago, TopDollar said:

What is the difference between slats and flaps.

Flaps are found on the trailing edge (back) of the wing. They increase the lift generated by the wing to allow for lower flight speeds at high angles of attack.  Slats do not really improve lift much but they allow the aircraft to reach higher angles of attack before stalling (lower stall speed).

29 minutes ago, Dapolish said: