Java

ArnieCarnie

Hi, i want to learn to program and i have no previous knowledge. Is Java a good language to begin with?

No, I would suggest starting with something like BASIC, Python or other non objective oriented languages. After you think you know one of those really well go to Java or something. The object oriented stuff can be quite confusing for a total n00b (sorry for using that word) in programming.

Build log "Whiplash" : http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/158477-the-hero/

Whiplash: 4790k@4,4Ghz|Maximus VII Hero|4x4Gb Red/Black HyperX fury 1866Mhz|R9 290 Tri-X|Modded 450D|Sleeved cables on a M12II evo 850W|M500 480Gb| BenQ XL2411T@144Hz

Laptop: 4700MQ|16Gb@1600Mhz|Quadro 1100M|1080P|128Gb SSD|500Gb 7200RPM hdd

No, I would suggest starting with something like BASIC, Python or other non objective oriented languages. After you think you know one of those really well go to Java or something. The object oriented stuff can be quite confusing for a total n00b (sorry for using that word) in programming.

For someone who is beginning in Programming, Python is the way to go!

i was thinking of starting with Python, looks like that will be my way to go

Java is a pretty good language. The problem with Java is that it is dying, though it still prevails in Android apps and it is good for the companies that have outdated software that still use it (since they refuse to update the framework).

Hi, i want to learn to program and i have no previous knowledge. Is Java a good language to begin with?

Java is perfectly fine to begin with ;)

Mini-Desktop: NCASE M1 Build Log
Mini-Server: M350 Build Log

The problem with Java is that it is dying

this is really far from being true AFAIK

do you have any source for that?

The object oriented stuff can be quite confusing for a total n00b (sorry for using that word) in programming.

well i think that learning OOP as a first approach to programming isn't that bad