Linus' latest investment is DOOOOOMED to be a giant catastrophe!!!

Thomas A. Fine

[clickbait headline intended]

[Editing to add: this is about a new proposed Linus investment, in a brand new network storage company, that was discussed on the latest WAN show, starting at 2:06:03.]

First, I have no issues with disclosed investments like this, generally.  Or even this in particular, in terms of ethics or whatever.

I just think this sounds like a very risky proposition.  As much as I am not at all a pro-corporate person, and as much as I want the "little guy/gal" to have access to "big guy/gal" technologies, I do, from experience, think that certain technologies really need to have a fairly substantial enterprise behind them.

And I think network storage solutions are one of these technologies.

I'm a sysadmin, and I work at a major astrophysics laboratory, one of the biggest in the world.  Astrophysics is a field which uses a lot of data. A LOT.  People outside of the science community probably don't know much about science labs, but the primary driver of funding is grants.  Nearly all projects are paid for by grants (from wherever), meaning each particular project has its own specific budget.  Because of this, or because of the traditions of the institution, each project group works very independently.  As a sysadmin, we provide a standard environment to scientists, and make whatever modifications we can reasonably accommodate, up to a point.  A point, after which, some groups decide to do their own system administration because of how our "packaged" product doesn't fit their needs.