[ASUS] Tried And Tested: Why Intel Ethernet Is Still Better For Gaming.

KakaoDj

Asus' article and tests

You guys should check out the article, it is quite extensive. I am not an expert on networking by any means, but i think ASUS is pulling a fast one here (12ms vs 100ms). They also use odd wording, such as: a deeper analysis shows Intel Gigabit Ethernet is clearly better for gaming. That sure sounds like marketing bullcrap.

Funny how they censor the name of the "competitor" KxxxxeR E22xx LAN. So cheeky  :lol:

Your move, MSI  :ph34r:

For many years, Intel’s Gigabit Ethernet chips have been the backbone of all ROG, and occasionally ASUS and TUF motherboards. The reason being is that it constantly showed better performance in our testing, which reviewers confirmed in their own testing too.

Intel-GigE-ixChariot-performance1.png

Online game packets are usually less than 256 bytes (small). Here, Intel Ethernet shows up to 2x performance advantage over a direct ‘gaming’ competitor on small packet sizes. This proves that while ‘course’ testing appears equal, a deeper analysis shows Intel Gigabit Ethernet is clearly better for gaming.

gamefirst-ii-performance.png

I don't get how this works, don't game packets already get priority due to their protocol type?

Grammar nazis are people too!
Treat your local grammar nazi nicely and he might teach you a thing or two. (Note that I'm Belgian and not a native English speaker.)
Chivalry isn't dead!

Asus' article and tests

Funny how they censor the name of the "competitor" KxxxxeR E22xx LAN. So cheeky  :lol:

Intel-GigE-ixChariot-performance1.png

Yup, this is essentially a little known fact now. Intel's Gigabit LAN is top notch.

Never seen this particular article though.. and from skimming it, I'm with @helping on this.. I don't see how it all applies, whether it's true or not.

But as I mentioned, this topic in itself is true. At least that's been my opinion and results from testing I did a while ago.