Help with ping times?

King_PIN

Can someone please help me find out the proper way to test my ping? 

My isp tells me to use speedtest.net where I get a 1ms ping.  

Fast.com shows a 36ms ping. 

When I went through a guide and did it through command prompt to googles servers 8.8.8.8 and also my isp I get around 26ms.  

I'm on fiber if it matters.  

Attach5362_20220111_170842.jpg

What do you want to test your ping to? Your testing to all different servers, so different ping times are expected. Ping is to anouther server, so it depends on what your testing your ping to.

Do a internet test from ookla

I have an ASUS G14 2021 with Manjaro KDE and I am a professional Linux NoOB and also pretty bad at General Computing.

ALSO I DON'T EDIT MY POSTS* NOWADAYS SO NO NEED TO REFRESH BEFORE REPLYING *unless I edit my post

3 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

What do you want to test your ping to? Your testing to all different servers, so different ping times are expected. Ping is to anouther server, so it depends on what your testing your ping to.

That's a good question and not one I know how to answer.  

My problem is before my isp told me to use fast.com for speed tests. 

Now they want me to use speedtest.net.  

How do I know what I should be using? 

4 minutes ago, King_PIN said:

What is your goal with the speed test? A good amount of those times those speed tests are close to your ISP so they will show a best case senario that a lot of other sites won't be able to hit.

Fast.com is often better as its using Netflix's servers, so its often more realistic.

8 minutes ago, fUnDaMeNtAl_knobhead said:

Do a internet test from ookla

I get a 1 or 2ms ping whan I go there. 

9 minutes ago, King_PIN said:

You should always use multiple speedtest sites, testing multiple servers at multiple times of the day. Speeds and ping times can vary depending on a wide variety of factors that impact internet traffic throughout the day.