Will 16+8 ram work together and in dual channel?

Hello everyone, I bought 1 16 GB 3200 mhz ram but I didn’t know single channel vs dual channel mattered so much. So now I have to upgrade from single channel to dual channel. I already have 1 16 gb ram stick and thats enough for me but its single channel so I am wondering if I bought the same exact ram stick as the current one but its 8 gb version instead of 16 (all same speeds and latencies and same brand) Would they work together? (I will have 24 gb in total if I do this) and most importantly would it count as dual channel if one is 16 and one is 8 gb? Because the whole point is getting dual channel the cheapest way possible. Thanks.

And the system specs are..........?

Just now, ShrimpBrime said:

And the system specs are..........?

Ryzen 5 3600

Gigabyte B450M S2H

Asus Strix RTX 2080 Super

Corsair MP510 960Gb

Kingston 16 gb 3200mhz 16cl ram

I'm not a RAM expert but yes they'll likely work together fine and in dual channel but where I become naive is if you fill up 16GB of usable RAM I don't know if the RAM will perform slower as it fills the other 50% of the 1st stick or if Windows will dynamically prefer to use the 16GB stick because of its higher capacity and fill the other at a slower rate to compensate.

That I don't know.

2 minutes ago, badreg said:

The first 16GB should run in dual channel, and the remaining 8GB will be single channel.

So considering I would never fully use 16gb while only gaming I should be fine and its safe to make this purchase right?

They will run together but at what frequency..... You'll have to find out.

In most games, dual channel doesnt make a large difference on fps. Most of the render is done on the gpu.

1 minute ago, redcan0 said:

So considering I would never fully use 16gb while only gaming I should be fine and its safe to make this purchase right?