Which MacBook Pro 16" configuration ?

Hi
I am considering selling my current Desktop PC and using a MacBook Pro as a new Desktop Setup. 
I am a student who does a lot in Onenote and sometimes some Python, Matlab and Autocad or similar.
I like to play a few games in my free time, but it doesn't need to be AAA titles with max settings.

The big question is which configuration I should use?

Should I go for the I7 or I9 ?
Is 16gb ram enough or 32gb better?
The Radeon Pro 5300m, Radeon Pro 5500m 4gb or Radeon Pro 5500m 8gb?

What would you suggest? Any other tips what a good USB C dock for the mac is?
Greetings Losspost

macbooks aren't great for gaming, if you don't do any heavy workload 16gb and the i7 will be fine. the 5500m 4gb is enough

How bad is your pc that a macbook would be better? What games would you like to play and do you really need a laptop?

Honestly, gaming on os x is still bad so you would have to install windows but that comes with a lot of bugs and instabilities.

7 minutes ago, Losspost said:

Hi
I am considering selling my current Desktop PC and using a MacBook Pro as a new Desktop Setup

Welcome to the forum! The PCMR member in me is sad though.

7 minutes ago, Losspost said:

Should I go for the I7 or I9 ?
Is 16gb ram enough or 32gb better?
The Radeon Pro 5300m, Radeon Pro 5500m 4gb or Radeon Pro 5500m 8gb?

The i9 would be better but i7 is fine for your uses, assuming apple fixes their thermal throttling issues. How budget constrained are you? 16 GB is considered good enough, but 32GB will definitely leave some room.

No idea about those GPU s unfortunately

Please mark as helpful and informative so my profile looks better.

quote or reply to me if you want me to reply to you.

Thanks

2 minutes ago, Its_MrMa said:

macbooks aren't great for gaming, if you don't do any heavy workload 16gb and the i7 will be fine. the 5500m 4gb is enough

Yeah . I only want that i can run a few games. But as I said I doesnt need to play AAA titles.