Diy Proxy Server vs VPN Server

I'm looking to create my own Proxy Server or VPN Server. I did a little research and determined the main difference is that a VPN offers encyption whereas a proxy server does not. One of my friends was talking about using a raspberry pi to make his proxy server. Would I be able to use a pi for a VPN Server? If so, what are some recommendations.  I've never used a pi before, but I am familiar with Arduino. 

8 minutes ago, Julius217 said:

Would I be able to use a pi for a VPN Server? If so, what are some recommendations.  I've never used a pi before, but I am familiar with Arduino. 

Yes, you would, though I'd recommend going for the newer RPi4 instead of the older ones simply because running a VPN is a reasonably heavy task due to all the encryption-stuff needed. Also, Arduino is nothing like a Pi as the Pi simply runs a full-blown Linux.

As for the software: OpenVPN is what you want. It's not particularly easy to set up for a newbie, but you'd probably find plenty of guides for setting up OpenVPN on an RPi if you bother to google for it or search on Youtube.

That said, you can run OpenVPN on a billion different devices as well, so if you've got some old laptop lying around being useless or something, you could whip up Linux on it and run OpenVPN there, instead of buying an RPi for it. Or, hell, if you decided to get a new router, you could look for one that is supported by OpenWRT (OpenWRT is a custom Linux OS for routers) and install OpenVPN on it, or setup Pfsense on something and setup OpenVPN on it -- you have plenty of options, so choose whichever tickles your fancy! (Me, I have a Pfsense-router handling my network and I've got OpenVPN running on it as well -- both in TUN-mode and TAP-mode, for different needs. It's fricking great stuff and I've come to really love Pfsense.)

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.