how can i change from intel to the upcoming amd zen2 without reinstalling windows?

jmk890

please bear with me as i am somewhat new to pcs. i currently have an intel system. I want to upgrade to one of the new ryzen cpus that will be released. i am wondering if there is a way i could change to an am4 motherboard and ryzen cpu without reinstalling windows or losing my data. i have read some things about deleting old drivers and things like that. I was hoping someone could give me some specifics and advice on how i could transfer from intel to amd as smooth as possible.

3 minutes ago, jmk890 said:

or losing my data

Copy your data to a USB-stick or USB-drive.

4 minutes ago, jmk890 said:

as smooth as possible

Reinstalling Windows is the smoothest solution.

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.

In some cases just plugging the harddrives out of your old PC and hooking them up to the new one just works, but this usually makes things buggy and unpredictable since drivers and such are getting confused.

There are ways of copying your OS, there are ways to "cheat" your way there, but in the end it's *always* best to just reinstall windows and saving your personal data on a USB or external harddrive. It's also a great way to rid yourself off of junk on your build, just wipe the system. 

Though when reinstalling windows you can choose to keep personal files, and that's always great.

Here's a useful tip! Re-installing windows can be expensive since you have to buy an activation key (about $100 if bought from Microsoft). There is one way to avoid this though: Deactivate your windows in settings and get the activation code. You will then be able to activate windows on the new motherboard. This should save you a lot of money. Enjoy zen2!

You need to clean install windows.

30 minutes ago, KeefsBuild said: